Mr Blogg was (not) here

My neglected paper-based journal was calling out to me the other day. It looked pretty forlorn sitting at the side of my desk in the room and cried out for lack of ink. My attention to brushing up posts and ensuring that the blog is as active as I’d like it to be means that I’m often typing my thoughts instead of penning them. I did mention my preference for the tactile feel of paper, hence my predilection for books but even though I do enjoy writing, the ease of typing things out quite often wins that little internal struggle over whether I should write or type my thoughts out.

I like the sound of the pen scratching the paper and the smoothness of the sheets under one’s hand. I like the feel of turning a page and starting to write on a fresh side. I like flipping pages and looking at my horribly uneven handwriting. I even enjoy reading the illegible scribbles. Sometimes. Sad thing is that one’s laziness often wins out and I rationalise that since I’m already on the computer, I might as well write an entry to my journal and while I’m at it, post it on the blog as well.

Problem is that I do see myself as a fairly private person and I wasn’t too comfortable with the idea of exposing my innermost thoughts to the entire blogosphere for all the world to see. One quickly realises however, that those fears are quite unfounded. Firstly, this blog doesn’t quite attract the hugest of audiences and I believe most of those who do read this (Thanks for stopping by, reading and commenting!)ย  do know me and my eccentricities anyway. Secondly, I notice a distinct difference between what I write in the journal (when I do write things there) and what I write here. While these are personal thoughts, I realise that the writing that I do for the blog tends to be of the sort that is fairly personal yet not so personal that I’m not willing to share it with others.

I’ve noticed that the writing that I’ve been doing over here has changed over the months. Posts have grown longer, a little more thoughtful and less report-like. I guess I’ve grown into the idea of blogging and realise that it’s much more than just a diary of what I’m doing here. What I really like about this is that I’m able to air my views about a number of things that matter to me – things that I might not get the chance to talk about or discuss too often. It’s a soapbox for me to talk about things as much as I want in as long winded a manner as I like. I’m enjoying this at the moment, and I think both you (my friendly readers) and I will notice when I stop doing so. How? Not quite sure but I think we’ll know.


Journal or blog? Blog or journal? Matter’s still undecided.

3 Responses to “Mr Blogg was (not) here”


  1. 1 jess 6 August 2008 at 9:57 09

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and insights with us. ๐Ÿ™‚ We enjoy reading it as much as you do writing it.

    Between paper and paperless…hmmm….
    I realised that the more I type, the more difficult it is for me to write. My handwriting has gotten worse and my fingers gets tired from just doing a few pieces of homework!

    blah…

  2. 2 feli 6 August 2008 at 11:16 11

    I’ve stopped being able to write with pen and paper ages ago. For some reason my brain ceases to function w/o a keyboard. Should I be worried? But I hear you about blogs – I still find it strange and I unconsciously?/consciously? censor some of what I would like to say, and I leave names out because I don’t feel it’s nice to mention someone who might not wish to have his/her actions posted online for all and sundry to read. But there are somethings I like to remember and as I have a memory of a goldfish – I’m trying to record random moments ๐Ÿ™‚

    On another note, the bookseller in me goes ‘what notebook is Stan using?’ Hmm – have you tried Moleskine? If not – your Xmas present’s pretty much solved ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. 3 gymstan 7 August 2008 at 7:48 07

    I use the blog as an outlet for my inveterate long-windedness. It does help most of the time.

    As for the handwriting, mine was already beyond illegible to being with so it hasn’t quite deteriorated as much. You can’t get much lower than zero for that.

    I was fortunate enough to have been given two lovely journals before I came here – a lovely handmade one like this from my Aunt Ruth (all the way from the USA) and a ciak from Jess and Pre. The former I use as a personal journal and the latter for my travels. Both are surprisingly well used despite what I’ve said. Moleskines are nice too I must admit… ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

about the brushhead

had a head like a brush (it's more like an egg now). seeks to sweep through thought and faith with that brush. tries to wax philosophical but often forgets to wax off. trying to be good brush to all, while discerning what kind of brush he's meant to be.

Click here to contact the brush

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 25,608 hits

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

