Of trepidation and being pensive

One realises that one can only prepare that much and that after a bit, things tend to be a matter of personal, emotional preparedness. Take me for example, I thought that getting all the stuff ready and packed would be a great start to my journey and that the act of gathering the stuff would be sufficient as ‘preparation’. Boy was I wrong.

Was told that the week before departure’s always difficult and that there are all sorts of strange thoughts swirling in one’s head prior to getting onto the plane and leaving for a while. And it has – I didn’t realise how much I’d miss family, friends and stuff around here for even a short period of time. Simple things like not being around to see some of the students develop, missing a show or two, missing out on the little things that friends talk about over coffee or beer. The broad idea of going away to try out a new life, culture and experience is great but sometimes, it’s the little things, the little comforts of being where we consider ‘home’ can cause us that small amount of trepidation and pensiveness.

It’s Ash Wednesday today and we’re supposed to be in a slightly more reflective and prayerful mood at this point in time – it’s made me somewhat pensive about things. There certainly is something to be said about the discipline of Lent and how the practice of it can lead to more intense reflection and thoughts about the work that I am to do and how I’m to do it. Short of being overly preachy here, it’s made me realise that the supposed ‘sacrifices’ that I’m making to do the SVO stint, the ‘privations’ that I’m going to undergo aren’t so at all and that there are much greater sacrifices made and suffering endured in times past by people far greater than I am. I am but embarking on a journey that is a tad different from many around me. And I’m getting apprehensive about this?

0 Responses to “Of trepidation and being pensive”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

about the brushhead

had a head like a brush (it's more like an egg now). seeks to sweep through thought and faith with that brush. tries to wax philosophical but often forgets to wax off. trying to be good brush to all, while discerning what kind of brush he's meant to be.

Click here to contact the brush

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 25,954 hits

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

